Image credits: Image by ernestoeslava/39 images from Pixabay
News Article

SICT Deploys 47 Medical Units to Issue Federal Licenses

By Emilio Aristegui | Tue, 07/19/2022 - 18:09

Mexico’s Ministry of Infrastructure, Communications and Transport (SICT) placed 47 medical units throughout the country to support in the issuance, revaluation or revalidation of the certificates of physical and mental fitness, which are required by some transportation jobs.

“To contribute to the safety of the users of the different modes of transportation, the DGPMPT (General Directorate of Protection and Preventive Medicine in Transport) determines the psychophysical conditions that the personnel who drive, operate and/or assist in the various modes of federal transportation and their auxiliary services must present. This is achieved through the practice of comprehensive physical and mental examinations and medical and toxicological tests,” according to SICT’s press release.

The units will reassess or revalidate the licenses necessary for employment in various modes of transport. SICT announced that the process must be carried out by aeronautical technical staff, federal public motor transportation workers, railway technicians and maritime technicians, among others.

The medical units were deployed in strategic locations that considered all modes of transportation throughout the country. They are located in Mexico City (Las Bombas), Mexico City International Airport, Ciudad Juarez, Cuernavaca, Culiacan, Guadalajara International Airport, Merida, Monterey International Airport, Queretaro and Toluca International Airport. SICT also authorized third-party doctors to issue these certificates in accordance with the Regulations of the Preventive Medicine Service in Transportation.

The ministry also deployed several medical units for all certificates except those for air personnel in: Acapulco, Aguascalientes, Campeche, Cancun, Chihuahua, Ciudad del Carmen International Airport, Durango, Zapopan, Central Bus Station of Guadalajara, Hermosillo, La Paz, Lazaro Cardenas, Leon, Manzanillo, Matamoros, Mazatlan, Mexicali, Guadalupe, Morelia, New Laredo, Oaxaca, Pachuca, Hidalgo, Puebla, Saltillo, Coahuila, San Luis Potosi, Tampico, Tehuantepec, Tepic, Tijuana, Tlaxcala, Toluca, Torreon, Tuxpan, Tuxtla Gutierrez, Boca del Rio, Villahermosa and Guadalupe.

The data used in this article was sourced from:  
Emilio Aristegui Emilio Aristegui Junior Journalist and Industry Analyst